Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur is one of the thirty one National Institutes of Technology in the country. The Government of India by Act of Parliament (National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007 (29 of 2007)) declared VNIT Nagpur as an Institute of National Importance along with other NITs. The Institute was established in the year 1960 as Regional College of Engineering. In 1962, the Governing Board of the College resolved to name it after the eminent engineer, planner, and statesman of the country Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya. The Institute offers eight B. Tech., one B. Arch., sixteen M.Tech., three M.Sc. and Ph. D. programs in various disciplines of Engineering, Architecture,Science, Humanities and Social Science.